Ideas / Marie's Thoughts / Organization / Tips/Advice

Schedules or Inspiration?

I think I need a little bit of advice…

Marie's ThoughtsLately, I’ve been thinking a lot about everything that I hope to achieve in life.  And no, it’s not because of the New Year or because this is the time of year to make resolutions.  It’s because I think about it on a weekly basis.  Even daily, at times.  I have so many goals set in life from little to huge that I don’t know what to do with them all.  It’s gotten to a point where I’ve starting to just call  most of them hobbies because I can’t seem to keep up with everything I want to do.

I’m so torn these days with which “hobby” I should indulge in the most.  I feel sometimes as if my attention is being spread around on 10 things at once, so I sit and play music for 15 minutes and then suddenly I’m at my laptop blogging.  Then, I want to go out to the store and get ingredients to try my hand at a new recipe.  There’s so much I want to learn and to take in, but really feel that there is never enough time to do it.

Right now, I have a mental list of all the things I  really want to work on.  I’ll share it with you.

  • Write a book
  • Blog
  • Organize home
  • Learn new recipes
  • Practice piano playing
  • Learn new songs on guitar
  • Exercise
  • Write and record new songs

That’s just the tip of the ice burg.  Those are the things that matter the most to me and are on my mind 24/7.  You have to understand, there’s so much more that it would be impossible to name them all.  Then add in the fact that I also work, have friends, spend time with my boyfriend, and need to take care of every day things such as cleaning, laundry, dishes, paying bills, etc.  Oh, and sleep.  I do need sleep (as much as I wish I didn’t).

Well,  I’ve been thinking. Maybe I should actually sit down and organize some sort of schedule.   It’s hard to think about because I want to do them all….everyday…all the time, but that’s just impossible.  So maybe what I need is a vague idea of the time I want to put into each of these goals.  Nothing too intense like: Monday, 8:00 am to 9:00 am – Sit down and write a song.  Just something simple like:  Thursday: Try a new Chili recipe.  or Friday Morning: Organize Pantry.  Things like music and writing I tend to do on a whim and for me, that’s alright.  I hate being put on the spot to write, I think it just needs to come naturally and when I feel inspired.  But what I may need to do is make sure that I have some “me” time during the week to actually do those things when I feel up for it.

But then, I wonder if that’s really the best way to go.  Sometimes I get an urge to organize something at 7am or 10pm and I just do it.  So, why should I plan things if I’ll end up accomplishing something on a whim?

Or, maybe I just over think things too much.  I’m just saying.  It’s a huge possibility.

So, my question for you all is…

Should goals be scheduled or accomplished when inspiration hits?

See you tomorrow morning!

GMJ SunGood Morning, Joe Marie

2 thoughts on “Schedules or Inspiration?

  1. I love my hobby, but sometimes life gets in the way of getting to spending time doing it. I do look at my week, and then mentally pick out nights when I make time to craft. Otherwise, the computer, or phone calls can suck up my free time. I spend time cooking on weekends, so that is when I can experiment with new recipes and have “fun”. Weeknights are just too busy. Funny how I am t hinking of how I “fit” my other loves in, like reading and music. I commute on the train, so I do a lot of reading and listening to music then.
    Wishing you a Happy, Healthy and Creative 2013!

    • True, I get my music listening to in when I’m writing. So in a sense I guess I’m multitasking. I think I may have to mentally pick out times to play music. It’s something I miss doing that I haven’t had much of a chance to do lately.

Leave a Comment to Good Morning, Joe

