Children / Family / Life

“Thinking the Unthinkable”: It’s time to talk about mental illness

My mother posted a link to an article that featured a post by a mother of a 13 year old boy and blogger from Blogger.com called “Thinking the Unthinkable” by The Anarchist Soccer Mom.

It reads:  In the wake of another horrific national tragedy, it’s easy to talk about guns. But it’s time to talk about mental illness.

It’s an intense read for early Monday morning, but one that should be read nonetheless.  I, for one, have never really experience anything quite like this so my views and opinions are limited, but my heart does go out to the parents, children, men and women who have to go through this, day after day, unable to get the help that they need and deserve.  While reading “When I asked my son’s social worker about my options, he said that the only thing I could do was to get Michael charged with a crime.”  I thought to myself The boy is 13 and the only option is to have him charged with a crime?  How does that make any sense?  How is that the only option?

Here’s a snippet from her post, with a link to her blog.  Please take a look.

Thinking the Unthinkable

“Three days before 20 year-old Adam Lanza killed his mother, then opened fire on a classroom full of Connecticut kindergartners, my 13-year old son Michael (name changed) missed his bus because he was wearing the wrong color pants.

“I can wear these pants,” he said, his tone increasingly belligerent, the black-hole pupils of his eyes swallowing the blue irises.

“They are navy blue,” I told him. “Your school’s dress code says black or khaki pants only.”

“They told me I could wear these,” he insisted. “You’re a stupid bitch. I can wear whatever pants I want to. This is America. I have rights!”

“You can’t wear whatever pants you want to,” I said, my tone affable, reasonable. “And you definitely cannot call me a stupid bitch. You’re grounded from electronics for the rest of the day. Now get in the car, and I will take you to school.”

I live with a son who is mentally ill. I love my son. But he terrifies me.”…(read more)

“Thinking the Unthinkable” by The Anarchist Soccer Mom

See you tomorrow morning,

GMJ SunGood Morning, Joe Marie

One thought on ““Thinking the Unthinkable”: It’s time to talk about mental illness

  1. Wow, I just emailed this lady an email through NAMI which is National Alliance for the Mentally ILL. Yes we do need to start treating and funding Mental Health like we do physical diseases. There is still such a stigma and even disbelief that it even exist. Education, funding and compassion is so needed regarding Mental Health.

Leave a Comment to Good Morning, Joe

