Get To Know Marie / Marie's Thoughts / Movies

The Greatest Trilogies Discussion

First, I have a question for everyone.  Who here likes Star Wars?

Ewok's Home

Ewok’s Home

I know I do, and to be honest, I’m a huge fan.  I may not know all the details and every name of every place, person, or robot, but I love it all the same.  My ringtone for when work calls me is Darth Vader’s theme song (the Imperial March) and I remember watching Star Wars Episode 6: Return of the Jedi about….oh let’s say a million times.  As a kid, I loved the Ewoks.  I always wanted to live in a place like that, especially with the wooden staircases and bridges everywhere.  Ah, living in trees.  What makes that so appealing to kids? I think a lot of people wanted a tree house of their own when they were young.  I guess there’s something very magical and earthy about it.

Now, I seem to get the feeling that a lot of people, or maybe some people, didn’t like the newer episodes in the Star Wars series.  I’ve heard people ranting about how terrible Jar Jar Binks is, how bad Hayden Christensen’s acting was, etc.  But, I say it’s all (excuse my language) phony-baloney!  Yeah, that’s right! I said it and I’m proud to admit that I love all the episodes and if you can get past all the little faults that come with it and focus on the good, you may find yourself enjoying it a little more.   Watching the Pod Racing scene made me wish such a thing existed (minus the people crashing and dying of course) and I cried during the Great Jedi Purge.  So what?  These movies may not be as epic and amazing as the first trilogy, but the idea to me is just incredible and the music in it is overwhelming.

To get back on topic, a few nights ago, Chris (my boyfriend), our friend Mack and I were talking about what movies we should re-watch.  You know, the classics.  Mack came up with the idea that we should watch the greatest trilogies of all times.

  • Star Wars Episode IV-V-VI
  • The Lord Of The Rings
  • The Matrix

The reason I was ranting about Star Wars before is because we did in fact decide to watch all the Star Wars episodes in order to lead up to the first trilogy.  It’s long, I know, but we needed something to watch as we thought about what other trilogies to look into.

Raiders of the Lost Ark PosterNow, I wanted to add the Indiana Jones movies into the mix, but they said it really doesn’t compare at all to the other ones.  They’re right in the sense that it doesn’t have that same “magic” in it.  You know what I mean?  That fantasy, different-worlds, alien-races sort of feel to it.  We sat there for a while, trying to come up with others to add to our list.  Some comedies were mentioned (Rush Hour, Back To The Future, etc), but nothing stuck.  Right now, sitting here at my laptop, I realized that maybe I could have brought Pirates of the Caribbean to the table, but even though the first one in my opinion is genius, I find myself not even knowing what’s going on most of the time as I watch the second and third. It seems like I just wanted to throw it out there because of how much I loved the first one.  So, I think that that in order for a movie to be named a Great Trilogy, one would have to love all the movies, not just the first.

So, what other trilogy out there would fit the bill?

We couldn’t seem to think of any others, so this morning I searched for ideas.  Here are the ones that I’ve seen.

  • Toy Story
  • The Bourne Trilogy
  • Batman
  • Terminator
  • X-Men
  • Spider-Man
  • Jurassic Park
  • Mission Impossible

There were a couple more that were mentioned, but I’ve never watched them before, so I can’t really say.  As much as I love Terminator, I really see it more as Terminator I and II, so that’s out.  I’ll have to watch X-Men again before I make my decision on that one.  Toy Story is really a trilogy that you love only because the first one is amazing.  Batman would certainly be the one that could make it.  I’m surprised neither Chris or Mack mentioned it.  Jurassic Park is really close to making the list, but once again I think it’s only because of the attachment I have to the first one.  I have to admit, I’ve never seen the God Father (it was mentioned but I didn’t add it to the list) and I didn’t really get into the Bourne Trilogy or Mission Impossible.  I guess I’m more of a scifi/fantasy kind of girl.

So, I’ve come to the decision that Batman should be added to the mix, I’ll have to re-watch X-Men and I’ll silently put Indiana Jones on the list (because I do like all 3 of them).  How I wish Back To The Future and Jurassic Park could be added, but the sequels just do not live up to the first movie.

How about you, what would your list of Great Trilogies be?

See you tomorrow morning!

Marie
Good Morning, Joe

12 thoughts on “The Greatest Trilogies Discussion

  1. Independence day! If they made that into a trilogy I’d watch them back to back nonstop forever. Seriously. Best movie ever.

    But seriously. Do we have to like the other movies in it? Spaceship troopers was brilliant (mostly because most people didn’t take it for the satire that it was). And it had at least 2 straight to DVD releases afterwards, so technically?

    Every star-trek movie EVER. If I watch them in three’s they’re technically trilogies right?
    Lord of the rings?

    Gosh I’ve named nothing but science fiction and fantasy.

    Knocked up has a spinoff coming out, does this count?

    Lets be honest, threesomes ( ahem trilogies) suck because they promise you everything and you end up watching in disappointment.

  2. My favorite trilogy would be The Lord of the Rings. I had seen the movie, bought the DVDs and read the books in two languages (English and Indonesian). :D

Leave a Comment to Good Morning, Joe

