Marie's Thoughts / Random

Orange With Loneliness

Hello, Good Morning, Joe Followers!

This week has been a little bit slow for new ideas for posts so I turned to The Daily Post at WordPress.com for an idea on what to write about.  The challenge this week (A Splash of Color) really spoke to me, so I decided to give it a go.  Hope you all enjoy it and feel free to leave a comment below!

Marie
Good Morning, Joe

________________________________________________________________________________

Well color me surprised…

In Season 4, Episode 22 of the Big Bang Theory, there’s a scene in which Raj goes to see Sheldon that really made me laugh out loud.  I tell everyone about it and randomly say “I’m orange” in hopes that they’re a fan of the Big Bang Theory as well.  If you’ve seen this episode already, I’m sure you’ll recognize it right away, but if not, check out a video of the scene on YouTube or the dialogue goes as follows:

Raj: I need a hug.
Sheldon: Sorry, I have company.
Raj: Come on, Sheldon, open the door.
Sheldon: I don’t want to hug you.
Raj: I don’t want to hug you, either. I was just feeling blue.
Sheldon: Blue, as in depressed.
Raj: Well, not so much depressed as lonely.
Sheldon: I don’t know what color lonely is.
Raj: What?
Sheldon: Red is angry, yellow is frightened, green is jealous and blue is depressed. Perhaps we can assign a color to lonely.
Raj: Nothing rhymes with orange. It’s probably lonely.
Sheldon: All right. Come in. You look positively orange with loneliness…. No, I don’t see that catching on at all.

Ha, Ha, Ha!

Just classic!  This is the perfect TV show to really brighten up your day if you’re in need of a pick-me-up.  Sheldon’s got a point, however, of how colors are associated with feelings.  I find that the song “Bold As Love” by Jimi Hendrix has a unique way of presenting this by painting a colorful image of just how far you can go when mixing colors, feelings, and music together.  It’s not a long song, but when I hear it or read the lyrics I get these vibrant images flashing in my head.  Something tells me he may have written Bold As Love exactly for this reason.  Listen to the song (by Jimi Hendrix or redone by John Mayer) or take a look at the lyrics below and tell me you don’t see what I see.

BOLD AS LOVE

Anger, he smiles,
towering in shiny metallic purple armour
Queen Jealousy, envy waits behind him
Her fiery green gown sneers at the grassy ground

Blue are the life-giving waters taken for granted,
They quietly understand
Once happy turquoise armies lay opposite ready,
But wonder why the fight is on
But they’re all bold as love, yeah, they’re all bold as love
Yeah, they’re all bold as love
Just ask the axis

My red is so confident that he flashes trophies of war,
and ribbons of euphoria
Orange is young, full of daring,
But very unsteady for the first go round
My yellow in this case is not so mellow
In fact I’m trying to say it’s frightened like me
And all these emotions of mine keep holding me from, eh,
Giving my life to a rainbow like you
But, I’m eh , yeah, I’m bold as love
Yeah, yeah
Well I’m bold, bold as love (hear me talking, girl)
I’m bold as love
Just ask the axis (he knows everything)

This makes me wonder if Jimi Hendrix actually saw colors while playing music.  An interesting thought, I’d say.  So, after thinking about this possibility, I looked it up online and saw a few comments saying that he did have some form of Synesthesia (a sensation produced in one modality when a stimulus is applied to another modality, as when the hearing of a certain sound induces the visualization of a certain color).  Although, with all the information available online, it’s difficult to know what is actual truth and what is just assumed.  I think it would make a lot of sense if he did, but then again I could be basing this only on the one song.

We all know that when we’re angry, we “see red” and when we’re down we “feel blue”, but where exactly do these idioms come from?  For instance, we know that the color green is associated with envy, but why is that exactly?  Somewhere in history, is there an original “green-eyed monster”? According to Wikipedia, Shakespeare mentions the association in The Merchant of Venice when Portia states: “How all the other passions fleet to air, as doubtful thoughts and rash embraced despair and shuddering fear and green-eyed jealousy!”  Is that just creative writing at its best or has “green-eyed jealousy” been around for well before his time? If being green means being envious, then why is the Hulk not red with anger?  Was the original damsel in distress a blonde to associate her with being frightened and in need of saving?

These are the questions I wish I had answers to.

Do you associate colors with feelings, numbers, or music?  Do you have a form of synesthesia? 

Is Sheldon’s saying “You look positively orange with loneliness” going to catch on?

See you tomorrow morning!

Marie
Good Morning, Joe

6 thoughts on “Orange With Loneliness

  1. I have that song in my collection, and for some reason, I never really noticed the synesthesia connection before. I guess I never listened all that closely to the lyrics. It wouldn’t surprise me if Jimi had synesthesia. Although if he did, it seems that his is more similar to Edgar Degas’ than to mine.

  2. Pingback: Snapshots of Artistic Expressions in La Paz. Part I: Paintings. « 3rdculturechildren

  3. Pingback: That Moment in Life | Good Morning, Joe

Leave a Comment to Good Morning, Joe

