Marie's Thoughts / Random / Tips/Advice

3 Grammatical Errors That Drive Me Crazy

“Bad grammar is turning up in books now! We are doomed!” – my friend

A friend of mine recently posted a picture of a page from a children’s book on Facebook.  I was shocked at what was written.  Take a good look at it.

Do you see the error?

I noticed it right away.  What I read it as is “Bear is like honey when it is runny.”  It’s so crazy to me that a children’s book would have this kind of mistake!  It’s not as if it’s a 1000 page novel.  The book is probably 10 pages at best ( it looks to me like one of those foamy books for young children).  I wonder how many words they had to check to edit it…not many I’m sure.  The comment I left on her picture was  “Their really getting badder by the minute” …*crickets*

I had a hard time just typing that comment!  It made me flinch…literally.

Here are 3 grammatical errors that drive me crazy!

1. There, Their, They’re

There refers to a place. Example: “There is the street we need to turn down.”
Their is a possessive adjective. Example:  “Their hands are cold.”
They’re means they are.  Example: “They’re taking a nap.”

If you have trouble between “their” and “they’re”, try saying the sentence out loud by switching between “their” and “they are”.

Example:  Is it Their too tired to play football  or They are too tired to play football?

Are you talking about more than one person and what they possess?  No, so you must use they’re.

2. Its and It’s

It’s means it isExample:  “It’s unlikely that it will rain tomorrow.”
Its is a possessive pronoun.  Example:  “That washing machine has got its work cut out for it!”

Once again, trying saying the sentence out loud if you’re unsure of which to use by switching between “it’s” and “it is”.

Example:  Is it The dog chased after its ball or The dog chased after it is ball?

The ball belongs to the dog, therefore use its.

3. Your and You’re

Your is a possessive pronoun.  Example:  Your house is on fire.
You’re means you are.  Example:  You’re driving me crazy!

Try switching between “your” and “you are”

Example:  Is it Your out of coffee filters or You are out of coffee filters?

If you can say the sentence with “you are” you must use “you’re”.  If not, then you have no other choice but to use “your”.

Okay…

There is my rant for the day.  I must stop before my head explodes.  It’s (it is) so easy in this world of quick text messages and e-mails to lose ( not “loose”) touch with proper grammar.  I understand that texting or typing “your” is faster than “you’re”, but try not to develop that bad habit when it comes to more serious things in life (like your resume).   It really irks some people.  If you see any errors in this post, please feel free to point them out!

What is the biggest grammatical error that drives you crazy?

Leave a comment below or a personal comment.

See you tomorrow morning!

Marie
Good Morning, Joe

Read more on Marie’s Thoughts

13 thoughts on “3 Grammatical Errors That Drive Me Crazy

  1. Pingback: 3 Grammatical Errors That Drive Me Crazy | Parrots, Prose, and Peanuts

    • It just really irks me! Especially on Facebook when I see people leaving comments like “Your beautiful!”. I just sit there, stunned. Thanks for checking out my post!

  2. Love this post! Those are the three that always get on my nerves, too! I also hate when people put apostrophes inside the period. Like “this”. UGH! Drives me insane!

    • Oh! Intersting! Sot if you’re writing something like:

      She said, “I’m going to the store!”

      Even though “she” exclaimed that she’s going to the store then the exclamation point inside the apostrophes takes place of the period of your sentence?

      Did what I say just make sense?

  3. As a proofreader at work, these things make me want to pull my hair out, especially in a professional paper. And someone mentioned the period outside the quotation marks – another of my pet peeves. My husband was just asking me about that last night, when he was reading an article online and wondered about the punctuation. I told him the rule: if it’s part of the quote, it goes inside the marks. The exceptions are the comma and the period, because they’re considered ‘small’ and able to ‘get lost’ in the sentence, so they always go inside the quotation marks, whether they’re part of it or not. There…I’ve had my rant for the day. Thanks for the opportunity! :-)

  4. Pingback: That Moment in Life | Good Morning, Joe

  5. Pingback: A Glance Into The Past | Good Morning, Joe

Leave a Comment to Good Morning, Joe

