Tea

Good Morning, Tea!

Drinking something other than a cup of joe?

The Perfect Tea Mug Botanical

I know I am!  I recently got a craving for tea, believe it or not.  Don’t get me wrong, I still have my morning cup of coffee, but throughout the day I’ve really been enjoying a nice, hot cup of tea.

A coworker of mine came to work one morning and showed me an Organic Detox bag that she bought at DavidsTea.

She opened the package and let me smell it and…. Wow!  Did it ever smell amazing, let me tell you!

A couple of days later, I went to the nearest DavidsTea that I knew about.  The staff was incredibly friendly and extremely knowledgeable about all the different kinds of teas that they sell.  They seemed genuinely passionate about loose leaf tea!  It wasn’t just a job to them, but a way of life.  If you’d walk in and say  “I need a tea for helping me unwind before bed” they would know just the right one and they take the time to explain it to you so you can enjoy it to the fullest.  They even have a little compartment in the tins displayed in the shop that they open to let you smell it!  Just a perfect way to experience the tea a little bit before buying it.

So, after explaining that “a coworker of mine had a..some sort of…uhh..detox tea??” (I only had to say the word “detox” she knew right away which tea I was talking about) and mentioning that I also love ginger, I walked out of there with one bag of Organic Detox, one bag of Organic Pu’erh Ginger,  their “Tea Menu” for Fall 2012, and a mesh teaball.  I had to stop myself from buying a mug as well!

The “Tea Menu” really gives you a better look at the different types of teas that they make:

  • white tea
  • green tea
  • oolong tea
  • black tea
  • pu’erh
  • maté
  • rooibos
  • herbal tea

I actually had only heard of 5 of those listed above.  I was shocked…and intrigued all at the same time.  It also tells you which are caffeine-free and kosher, and informs you where the tea is from (where applicable).

Starbucks - Chai Latte

Starbucks – Chai Latte

After trying the two teas,  I realized that maybe I just might be hooked.  Just a little.  Okay, maybe a lot.  They’re just both so refreshing and flavorful that I can’t get enough!  Definitely a dangerous combo when dealing with a possible tea addiction.   I get the feeling this will be like the Chai Latte incident of 2011.  Starbucks sure does know how to make ’em and I just couldn’t stop buying them!

All in all, I was swept off my feet by DavidsTea.  We’ll see how long this relationship lasts.  Perhaps it won’t  be “just a phase”.

See you tomorrow morning!

-Marie
Good Morning, Joe

(Leave a personal message)

9 thoughts on “Good Morning, Tea!

      • Sometimes it does. I absolutely love coffee. My least favorite flavor is hazelnut. I also like all sorts of hot chocolate. I’m the only serious coffee drinker in my family. My Asian mom likes the green and organic teas. My sister takes after my English grandmother and likes her Earl Grey’s and breakfast teas. My hubby has fallen in love with the teas from a company called funfreshfoods.com.

  1. I’ve never really been a coffee drinker, so when it gets chilly hot chocolate and tea becomes my beverages of choice. I’ve never really experimented much with loose leaf tea, though. Maybe this winter I’ll have to branch out a little.

  2. Pingback: theinnerwildkat

Leave a Comment to Good Morning, Joe

